Tags

, ,

So, with my ankle being grumpy and me taking a week or two off from running, I decided I needed to do something else with the extra time I had. My first thought was swimming more. But, swimming is the unsexiest of the legs I need to train for, plus I really didn’t want to swim more. Swimming is a necessary evil of training. Open water swimming is decent, but swimming in the pool is only slightly better than running on a treadmill, aka. boredom incarnate.

With no running and swimming getting a glorious meh, biking it was. However I have been biking a decent amount anyway and adding extra workouts seemed like it would be excessive. I also came to the realization that I need more power in my legs. I can spin like it’s going out of style, but when it comes time to drop the hammer or power over a hill, I mostly still spin, and downshift.

To fix this I had the amazingly shocking idea of hitting the gym for some strength training. I know, I surprised I thought of that too!

A little background on me. I’m kinda build like a tyrannosaurus rex, my legs are solid and strong, my arms and upper body not so much.

Yup, that’s me.

First day at the gym I had plenty of time to kill. I took a little workout plan I found on the internet (What doesn’t the internet know? I mean really!)  and busted it out. I tried to hammer my legs and go pretty easy on my upper body.

It worked like a charm. At least for the day. It was the first time I had lifted in, well, more years than I care to think about. And luckily for me there was no one around to watch me bench-press slightly less than a 13-year-old girl could. Win. The rest of the day I felt great, a little wobbly but great.

The next day. Yeah, I think we all know where this is going. The scientific name is Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness (DOMS), I call it crying when trying to wash your hair. It’s awesome. A small child could have incapacitated me and stolen everything I own just by poking me in the chest and watching me curl into the fetal position and cry.

I am *mostly* getting over it now. I need to head to the gym again to work all of the soreness out, but I am a little scared. On the positive side, my legs were fine even though I tried to murder them. So, I am hoping that means they are pretty bad ass and this is going to work and make me bike like a machine.

Up next, more suffering with TheSufferFest videos and I am going to try running again hopefully before this weekend and see how the ankle does.

Now I am off to try to put things away on the top shelf. Wish me luck.

